Company Accreditations

ISO 9001:2015 sets out the criteria for a quality management system and is the only standard in the family that can be certified to.

This standard is based on a number of Quality Management Principles (QMPs) including a strong customer focus, the motivation and implication of top management, the process approach and continual improvement. Using ISO 9001:2015 helps ensure that customers get consistent, good quality products and services, which in turn brings many business benefits.

ISO 9001:2015 is based on these seven QMPs: 

> Customer focus.

> Leadership.

> Engagement of people. 

> Process approach. 

> Improvement.

> Evidence-based decision making.

> Relationship management.

ISO 27001:2013 specifies the requirements for establishing, implementing, maintaining and continually improving an information security management system within the context of the organisation.

This standard helps your organisation manage the security of assets such as financial information, intellectual property, employee details or information entrusted to you by third parties. 

It also includes requirements for the assessment and treatment of information security risks tailored to the needs of the organisation. 

ISO 27001 is the best-known standard in the family providing requirements for an information security management system (ISMS) – a systematic approach to managing sensitive company information so that it remains secure, including people, processes and IT systems by applying a risk management process.

ISO 14001:2015 specifies the requirements for an environmental management system that an organisation can use to enhance its environmental performance.

ISO 14001:2015 is intended for use by an organisation seeking to manage its environmental responsibilities in a systematic manner that contributes to the environmental pillar of sustainability.

ISO 14001:2015 helps an organisation achieve the intended outcomes of its environmental management system, which provide value for the environment, the organisation itself and interested parties.

Consistent with our Environmental Policy, the intended outcomes of an environmental management system include:

> Enhancement of environmental performance;

> Fulfilment of compliance obligations;

> Achievement of environmental objectives.

ISO 45001 is a standard developed by ISO to help organisations to improve employee safety, reduce workplace risks and create better, safer working conditions – all over the world.

The standard was developed by a committee of occupational health and safety experts, and follows other generic management system approaches such as ISO 14001 and ISO 9001. It was based on earlier international standards in this area such as OHSAS 18001, the International Labour Organisation’s ILO-OSH Guidelines, various national standards and the ILO’s international labour standards and conventions.

The Real Living Wage is the only UK wage rate that is voluntarily paid by over 8,500 UK businesses who believe their staff deserve a fair day’s pay for a hard day’s work.

Ethos pay the real Living Wage which is higher than the government minimum – they also make sure all their employees in London receive the London Living Wage. 

In 2016 the government introduced the National Living Wage – while we at the Living Wage Foundation welcome this pay rise for low-paid workers, it is not a Living Wage as it isn’t calculated based on actual living costs. 

Over 180,000 employees have received a pay rise as a result of the Living Wage campaign and we enjoy cross-party support. We have a broad range of employers accredited with the Foundation including 1/3 of the FTSE 100 and big household names including ITV, GOOGLE, IKEA, Everton FC and Chelsea FC.

Officially launched in Summer 2019, the Mayor of London’s Good Work Standard is part of his commitment to making London the best city in the world to work in. 

We are delighted to announce that we are one of the first official Good Work Standard employers in London, awarded at the highest level of Excellence. The accreditation recognises our commitment to our people and the ways in which we work together to achieve consistent improvement in many areas including, health and wellbeing, personal development, community mindedness, all adding to the best possible working environment for our team of employees.

The Mayor’s Good Work Standard sets a benchmark for best employment practice and standards. It encourages employers to contribute to a fairer and more inclusive London economy, ensuring that the economy works for all Londoners. It means that more Londoners can access jobs within great organisations, where excellent working practices, inclusivity, health and wellbeing and many more positive topics are at the forefront of business strategy. In order for this to be achieved, the Mayor is working with businesses, like Ethos, to celebrate excellent work practices and assist businesses in adopting best practice approaches by aiding collaboration of like-minded businesses and bringing together a range of support and resources. 

Here at Ethos we are committed to a healthy, fair and inclusive workplace. As a business we understand that this is an important step to attracting and retaining a diverse, talented and successful workforce, allowing staff to perform and develop, becoming the best that they can be. The Mayor’s Good Work Standard accreditation recognises and promotes all these positive elements within the workplace. 

To read more about the Good Work Standard, visit

The Defence Employer Recognition Scheme (ERS) encourages employers to support defence and inspire others to do the same. The scheme encompasses bronze, silver and gold awards for employer organisations that pledge, demonstrate or advocate support to defence and the armed forces community, and align their values with the Armed Forces Covenant.

The ERS is designed primarily to recognise private sector support although public sector organisations such as the emergency services, local authorities, NHS trusts and executive agencies are also eligible to be recognised.

Silver award holders:

  • must have signed the Armed Forces Covenant
  • the employer must have already stated their intent to be supportive by using the ERS website to register at the Bronze level
  • the employer must proactively demonstrate that service personnel/armed forces community are not unfairly disadvantaged as part of their recruiting and selection processes
  • employers should employ at least one individual from the AFC category that the nomination emphasises. For example, an employer nominated for support to the Reserves must employ at least one Reservist. In exceptional circumstances where there is outstanding generic support for the Armed Forces community and/or the size or business model of the organisation makes employment of such an individual impossible, the organisation can be considered for the award where they do not employ someone from the AFC category
  • the employer must actively ensure that their workforce is aware of their positive policies towards defence people issues. For example, an employer nominated for support to the Reserves must have an internally publicised and positive HR policy on Reserves
  • within the context of Reserves the employer must have demonstrated support to mobilisations or have a framework in place. They must demonstrate support to training by providing at least 5 days’ additional unpaid/paid leave (wherever possible not to Reservist employees’ financial disadvantage)
  • the employer must not have been the subject of any negative PR or media activity

For more information about the Defence Recognition Scheme, please visit